McAfee Security Center - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default McAfee Security Center

So I bought McAfee Security Center, came with the Antivirus and spam killer and firewall and Privacy service. Well, everytime I boot up my PC, it asks me for a password now, McAfee Privacy Service, before the rest of my computer loads. Anyway I can get rid of that, so I don't have to enter in a password?
__________________

sickness is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I believe that it is a security default protocol for the McAfee package. You may be stuck with the password. Just do it!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Mcafee sucks IMO
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

LOL! I just bought Norton Utilities 2005 and can't wait to reinstall windows and get rid of McAfee!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Default

Mcafee is good but If I was you I would buy CA eTrust EZ Armor or Anti Virus, and what ever you do not buy norton products.
MidwestComputer is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to fateisajester
Default

i use mcafee. u need to go to their website and register. then put that info in the box
__________________
<html>
<head>
<img src=\"http://counter.li.org/cgi-bin/certificate.cgi/389377\">
</body>
</html>
fateisajester is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to fateisajester
Default

and stay away from norton.
__________________
<html>
<head>
<img src=\"http://counter.li.org/cgi-bin/certificate.cgi/389377\">
</body>
</html>
fateisajester is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
LOL! I just bought Norton Utilities 2005 and can't wait to reinstall windows and get rid of McAfee!
Lol, Norton sucks too.

I would use Trend PC-Cillion 2005
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

actually norton is much better than pc-cillion 2005, if you read the e-week magazine, it shows the performance, and norton works much better than trend.
nuke is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 03:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Most PC magazines say that Norton is one of the top 3. I have seen it in PC World and Computer Shopper. But that is just me.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

« WEP Issues | C++ »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.