Maxtor HD recognition problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2006, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default Maxtor HD recognition problem

Guys i have a maxtor external (you know one of those IDEs they put into a special case) and everything was fine its connected by a USB 2.0 cable and everything was fine. But then i wanted to reformat my computer so i did and i install all drivers etc and so i plug the HD in and turn it on and the little thing in the bottom right hand corner bar appears. But when i go to MY COMPUTER theres nothing there...I thought it was a problem with the computer so i took my thumb drive plugged it in but it did appear in MY COMPUTER.

So why doesnt my external appear in MY COMPUTER anymore like it used to?

please guys any help cuz ive got important stuff on it


chainz is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

Are there drivers that need installing? just a stab in the dark.

Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Have you tried to plug it in the USB port with it turned off. Than after you have it in the port turn it on?

I know a few times with my External i have had to turn it off and then back on for XP to recognize it.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2

hey guys i found out.

im using this recovery software and im just going to pull everything off it.

the only problem is that it only shows FOLDERS not files. what i mean is that on the HD i had saved files in folders all organized but some files i had saved just like that but i cant get them to show up....
chainz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.