Maxthon - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default Maxthon

Does anyone else use, or has heard of maxthon internet browser. I got it today and it totally pwns. It takes a while to configure since there are like 1000 options. You have control over pretty much anything. The best thing about it is that it has all of the functionality of Mozilla but runs on the IE platform with all of the microsoft standards. So no more sights not working quite right (ie, www.ati.com pulldown menus) Plus you get tabbed browsing and the google search bar and pop up blocking and many more things that you couldn't do with Mozilla. If you havn't checked this program out I highly recommend it.

Get it here!
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I wouldn't get it. Its using the IE engine wich means lots of spyware etc.

Get Opera, wich will give you another 1000 options. Check the links in my signature.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

I used to have it. It's crappy, and slow

Get FIREFOX!
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pavlyk
I used to have it. It's crappy, and slow

Get FIREFOX!

No. There's no need to compare them. Opera clearly beats FireFox in speed, reliability and options. Check the links in my sig.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
No. There's no need to compare them. Opera clearly beats FireFox in speed, reliability and options. Check the links in my sig.
When will this end seriously?Come on!
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

The problem with Opera is you have to pay for it...Firefox is FREE! Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

There's a free version of Opera with a small banner.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by southernlady
The problem with Opera is you have to pay for it...Firefox is FREE! Liz
Thank you for supporting me!
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

There's a reason why Opera costs money and FireFox doesn't. Opera is better.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Yeah, but I can get Firefox for free with NO ads or have to pay to browse with Opera with NO ads, now which way do you think I'm gonna go???? Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.