Maximize like a mac - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2007, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 74
Default Maximize like a mac

Hello,

I really like how in a mac, maximize doesn't fullcreen your window, it just makes it really big. Is there an app that lets you do this in Windows (Vista)? Also, It'd be REALLY nice if it was dual screen compatible.

THANKS!!

-Donald J
__________________

__________________
CEO Donjworks.com
Animation Studio
donaldj is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

You mean something like UltraMon? Give a screenshot of what you mean.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 07:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

wwwoooo ultramon the greatest monitor management tool ever
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 07:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

No, like this:



See how the windows don't touch the edge of the screen? I did that manually. Is there a way to automatically do this?
__________________
CEO Donjworks.com
Animation Studio
donaldj is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

Yeah double click you window at the top. To make it a window and then just drag the corners. You know the OS is called "Windows" for a reason.



See jsut did it with my Opera.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

I know, Thats what I've done to make that screenshot, however, in a mac, to achieve the save window shape/size, all you neeed to do is click the maximize button. In Windows, if you click the maximize button (as you may know) it fullscreens the window. Is there a way to achieve the mac maximize, without dragging the window size.

Thanks,

Donald j
__________________
CEO Donjworks.com
Animation Studio
donaldj is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 11:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

Get the Windows to the size and shape you want. After that hit F11 twice. The first time it will mazamize the window to full screen, not just maximized. The 2nd time it will put it back to the size and shape you had it. After you close it Windows should remember that size and shape and keep it that way.

Other than that to have the Maximize button do that for you. I dont think there is a way.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

probably is a way but it would take a lot of effort fooling around in the registry and windows folder
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 05:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: Maximize like a mac

Ok, whilst at school I found this app that lets you resize the window to a certain dimension with two button presses... not bad, but still not as snazzy as a mac
__________________

__________________
CEO Donjworks.com
Animation Studio
donaldj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retro Mac Jukebox Mod Osiris Apple and Mac 1 10-18-2007 02:22 PM
Microsoft's Latest Word Exploit Was Made On A Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 0 10-12-2007 12:24 PM
changing psu from power mac robina_80 Apple and Mac 1 09-28-2007 03:54 AM
Mac schoolhouse for windows j12 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-28-2007 03:20 AM
Make my PC look like a mac. donaldj Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-21-2007 07:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.