Manual Uninstalling Question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2006, 08:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default Manual Uninstalling Question..

Need To Know:

I have never atempted or have any experience with this. So im asking cause i would like some beforhand.

What im wondering is, if i wonted to either Manually Uninstall or just monitor a Programs Installation so i could Verify that "Every Single Bit" of it is removed after Uninstallation....

example
(would i beable to monitor every detail of change that a Installation program my do to the system with these such programs so i could manually undo them if need be?)
...
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sys...es/Regmon.mspx
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sys...s/filemon.mspx

and if so, please point out a few basic starting pointers if you know any, and or anything else i may need. Thx.
------------------------

Dont Need to know:

but this is why im asking...
On my Gaming Rig, i use a Clean Windows XPpro SP1... and i keep it Very Clean... theres a few programs i would like to try out though, but possibly Rmove afterward, Either IF: they 1)cause any issues, or 2)reach there point of usefullness.

like the program "Fraps" for example. for gameplay vid capturing.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

You can always just backup your registry at its current state. And when you want to revert back, just restore it
__________________

__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 09:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

thats a good idea... but that would only work if the program in question is the Last thing i installed.

and i would also like to know of any files it may install... example - like you know how some apps may not install everything it its own /programs directory, but may add other crapp elseware too.
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

That's true. Then how about www.drivesnapshot.de

A good little imaging program (free to try). Even after the trial expires, it will still let you restore from passed images, just not make new ones.

But it will let you image that drive (even while windows is running). And it also includes a file explorer so you can mount the image as a new drive and explore it if you need to retrieve any files without actually re-imaging the computer. This is nice because sometimes we make an image of a PC, and then a person may need a file off it, then you can just open the image with the program and pull the individual file out.

I guess what I'm getting at is you can image the PC. Then if you want to see what changes have been made, you can always explore the image and run a "compare" on it and see what differs.
__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

thx for the suggestion,

but i already have a image backup program.. i use ImageDrive 7.
because i have more then one computer, the only thing besides drivers on my gaming rig, are games... so i backed up Windows b4 i installing any games. Doing a proccess like you mentioned now would be Impractical cause with all the games installed the OS Volume is now roughly somewere over 30GBs used.

im lookin fora bit more practial method.
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

Hmmm, then that's a tough one. I don't know of any Windows programs that would do what you are asking.

Good luck, let us know if you find a solution.
__________________

__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.