Mannually block programs with WinXP Firewall...??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default Mannually block programs with WinXP Firewall...???

I need to block a program from the internet using the XP firewall, but when I load the program and it connects to the internet, windows doesn't ask me to block it!?!?! I've never tried to block or unblock this program in the past (so no it's not in the firewall exceptions list!!!) and yet it continues to successfully connect without notice!

Is there any way of blocking this program mannually?...rather than do it from the firewall prompt (which should, but doesn't, appear...)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
__________________

Nilhanth is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you'll need to find another firewall solution

from http://netsecurity.about.com/od/fire.../aa081804b.htm

Shortcomings of Windows Firewall

First of all, the Windows Firewall does not monitor or block outbound traffic. According to a PCWorld article, Microsoft technical specialist David Overton argues that "it is not the firewall's place to stop malicious code from sending outbound packets--Microsoft contends that companies should use perimeter technologies to examine outbound traffic."
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

ah rite.....that explains it! cheers for that!

well once again XP lets me down! lol
Nilhanth is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you click dont allow exceptions?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 03:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

what difference would that make? I said it's not in the exceptions list!
Nilhanth is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I use ZA 6 and XP firewall and my hardware fw
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
little_emmynem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India BOMBAY
Posts: 155
Send a message via Yahoo to little_emmynem
Default

Be sure to check that your program is not on the """"Excluded Items List""""""""
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00 GHZ
ASUS P5LD2 -VM Motherboard
SEAGATE FreeAgent Pro 500GB External HDD
SEAGATE Barracuda 160 GB SATA 7200 RPM
NVIDIA GeForce 8 Series - 8500GT 256MB
ASUS lightscribe Dual-layer DVD burner
SAMSUNG DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive
SAMSUNG 17" LCD/TFT Monitor
SAMSUNG ml-1610 Monochrome Printer
SONY MD RECIEVER
iBall iTower Cabinet with 400W ATX SMPS
TRANSEND 2x1 GB DDR2 667 MHZ RAM
little_emmynem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.