Malicious code on Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 04:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87
Default Malicious code on Windows

Just wondering, what do you guys use to get viruses / spyware off of a PC? What scans, run in what order? Any far-out methods?

I do a lot of removals and sometimes just can't get the bloody things off - so I'm looking at different solutions.
__________________

__________________
www.starforsaken.com
starforsaken is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well first off, you need an antivirus running all the time, then you need spyware removers such as spybot search and destroy, adaware se 6 personal, hijack this!, microsoft antispyware remover, which are all free. Run those programs constantly and dont download unknown programs, and you should be fine.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Well i am in the shop, and people are bringing in their PCs already infested. Often they are so bad that I can't get them off even when running in safe mode, modding the registry, etc. That's why I'm searching for alternate ideas.

I use SpyBot, Adaware, and Norton Antivirus 2005/AVG primarily.
__________________
www.starforsaken.com
starforsaken is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Hi jack this will work wonders on an infected pc. Are also disabling all items in msconfig before and after your spyware scans?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I got a really simple solution:

FIREFOX
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 09:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that doesn't fix anything, it just means you're using a program that the spyware you have doesn't (currently) affect. the spyware is still there unless you remove it.

I always use Antivir, have that running in the background, and it does a really good job of keeping out viruses.

for spyware, I often use HijackThis! as well as manually removing stuff in safe mode. I can recognise what files are not genuine Windows ones, in the C:\ C:\windows and C:\Windows\system32 folders
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yeah but once you get rid of spyware, just start using Firefox or any alternative browser that supports "Automated Download Disable". And you should be fine. With firefox you do not get spyware. I have tested this out myself. I have gone to multiple "shady" sites. And I have done complete spyware scans. And the results came back clean.


But the reason I posted that was because the simple fact.... Why get 8 tools when you can have 1. I see that people have programs like, hijack this, adblaster, pop up destroyer, spyware killers. etc...... But if they used firefox they would not have this problem. But yes AntiVirus is needed anyways.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

download spybot s&d, and get norton 2005
noboundaries is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if you dont have the latest def for virus or have none and want to check out the system, goto:

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Its free, it doesn't protect it from real time attacks, but has updated definitions and will rmove or tell you what is currently wrong.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.