making clone using ghost - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 03:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default making clone using ghost

Before doing this I like to ask here.I am using win 2000 and I have pretty much stuffs here already. I am talking about 30GB, Now what I want is to make a ghost bootable CD of this win2000 with anti virus and drivers only. So that it will be useful to reinstall the OS after formatting HD is it possible?

I have norton ghost software and dunno where to start.
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

AFAIK, you cant clone a w2k pc. You'll get a BSOD on boot stating inaccessible boot device. I think it has something to do with a HD id.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

So how the heck people make ghost image for restore purpose?
linux1880 is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default

Of course you can take a ghost image of Win 2K machine.

I worked in a software testing lab and this is how we quickly switched machines from different versions of Windows running different versions of Office, AV, Browsers etc.

Ensure the PC you want an image of is set up with what you want on the image, and only what you want on the image.

Then, you should have a floppy disk which is the boot disk. Boot the machine with the floppy in place. You will then get a menu. Select the menu itme that allows you to write the image. Make sure the destination of the image has enough room to store it.

You will probably want to write the image to CD\DVD? If you have a network, write it to the a location on a machine somewhere (faster).

Basically that is it. I am not familiar with which ghosting software we were using at the time, but it was so simple. I am sure you can check Symantec's site for info on taking the image. But the steps above should cover it.

Cheers!
blackx is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 01:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
Default

I should clarify. The boot disk is the ghosting boot disk supplied by Norton.

Does that make sense?
blackx is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

I have norton ghost. So I may need to make one from there
linux1880 is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 07:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

hey if you do make a clone which cd is there that has a capacity of 30gb..ok n now u say only with the ant viris n driver..!??? wot do u mean don u want the data. 30gb n all ..??
Vnet is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 03:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: making clone using ghost

Quote:
Originally posted by rajunpl
Before doing this I like to ask here.I am using win 2000 and I have pretty much stuffs here already. I am talking about 30GB, Now what I want is to make a ghost bootable CD of this win2000 with anti virus and drivers only. So that it will be useful to reinstall the OS after formatting HD is it possible?

I have norton ghost software and dunno where to start.
Depends on which version of Norton Ghost you have. If you have the latest, that's great - it is capable of backing up NTFS drives.

I only have the 2000 version of Ghost - I have not worked w/ the latest version. I don't think even the latest version has the capability to just extract yiour drivers and AV for ghosting purposes. I may be wrong about that but it's certainly not an option in my version.

What you should have done was while you were doing your W2K installation, make a backup using ghost right after you had installed your OS and AV.

And i've never heard of not being able to clone a W2K computer...absolute bull.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.