major problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2003, 03:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
soulafien's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128
Default major problems

greetings and well met! ive had a computer for about 3 years.i bought a gateway 952 amd. it has a geforce 2 mxmx400 and 512 ram. a couple of months ago{i think when the 44.03 nvidia drivers came out}something went wrong. when i got the comp it had ME installed.of course i put in 98 for games.well lately it keeps messing up.when i install xp pro{my legal copy}most of the time it wont install right .the errors are random,but usually ..........something about network ,,,,,,,then sometimes xp works for about a week then has some kind of error and wont work at all........98 in now {ive probably partitioned and formatted the hard drive 50 times }still problems! games wont work!even gateway drivers having problems.....????????????after 3 months of this crap im ready to give up!if i partition and format the hard drive what is the proper install method for os and all the drivers??????????im new to the forums so please help me.........soulafien!!!!!!!!!!!!ps wich is better for games.....................98 or xpro?

soulafien is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 04:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 99

have you try to change the cmos battery?

PIV 2.6Ghz w HT 512k Cache 800Mhz FSB
Twinmos 1GB DC 400 CL2.5
120GB IBM 7200RPM w 2MB cache
120GB Maxtor 7200RPM w 8MB cache
Nvidia FX5200 128MB
Philips SXGA 150S4 15\" LCD
Cooler Mastor Centurion
Global WIN Cooling System
TDK Cyclone 48X24X28X CDRW
Panasonic FDD
Intel PRO 10/100 TX
Sigma IrDA Port
PixelView FM/TV Pro
James is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
soulafien's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128

thanks for reply.....cmos battery?what is it and how do i do it?
soulafien is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

check the links,..however,..the failure you encountered may be due to other hardware failure other than just the cmos. but since the battery is cheaper to replace...see if it works.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 12:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

what did the errors say? and what network card have you got?
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
soulafien's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128

i think i got it.......amd bios update!!!!!!!!!the instructions from gateway for installing it wrer wrong.thanks all for help..u guys r awesome see ya next time

soulafien is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.