Major help needed, please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default Major help needed, please.

Okay, I have quite a huge issue. I can’t seem to install anything from a CD. I’m not sure exactly on how to describe this, as every program has its own error numbers. I can look on a CD, and I can open like, text documents and the such, but I can’t install anything. I believe that I have a compression issue, but I don’t know where to go after that. I really don’t know what to google for, but I’ll still be trying after this post. I can download programs, and install them from the computer, so what I’m thinking is (well, it’s pretty obvious?), is that I have a CD -> HD compression/uncompressing issue. If anyone could help, that’d be great. For an example, when I tried to install SP2, I got an error that the files were corrupt, yet when I put the CD in my laptop, it was fine. What I ended up doing there, was using the exe on the disc to extract the files to a temporary folder, then I ended the process, and took the files to my desktop, where I installed it from, since it was on the HD. So, does anyone know of anything even RELATED to this issue? I beg for your help Also, I can copy any files I want from a CD. I've tried everything I can think of.

-SkyHi
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

do you have a spare "known good" drive? swap em and try.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

You mean hard drive?

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

cdrom drive
office politics is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Hrm, I just was fiddling around with things, and I can take any info off a CD, but not install, as I said before, but, I also cannot install from the hard drive. I can copy the install from a CD, any CD, and then try to install, and I get errors! I try this with a few different programs, as well as SP2.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

It sounds like your cddrive has gone out. If it hasn't, you may have a bad sector on your hard drive, which could be corrupting your cd reader ability. (I doubt the second one )
Also, try cleaning your cd drive out once in a while, may help.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Switching to linux should cure your problem.
Red Fox is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Red Fox
Switching to linux should cure your problem.
Probably, from my post, you could incline to assume I'm not looking to switch, but rather to find a cure.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Linux is the cure to your problem. Switch now. It's free.

Besides, this is a typical response you would offer up to any random issue on this board, so I'm just trying to emulate ya.
Such as "my hotmail doesn't work" your reply .. switch to gmail ..

helpful, isn't it.




Are you still reading this? Go on, do it now. Join the dark side ...
Red Fox is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Have you tried getting new drivers, in case the old ones have become corrupt?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.