Major Compter Problem!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2005, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Exclamation Major Compter Problem!!!!

I installed sp2 for my sister and now when i boot up it goes and foes 2 the desktop but theres no taskbar with start and theres no icons what did i do and what can i do to fix this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!
Thnaks
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Right-Click your desktop, go to Arrange Icons By, then check "Show Desktop" to get the icons back. Mouse over to the edges of the screen to see if the task bar shows up. If it does, then right click it -> Properties, uncheck AutoHide. If it doesn't pop up, then Ctrl-Alt-Del and see if explorer.exe is in your process list. If isn't, then go to File -> New Task in the Task Manager, and type explorer and hit enter. Now it will either open an explorer window (to browse files), or start up the taskbar and stuff again. Either way, go to C:\Windows\ and open system.ini. Then, IF IT ALREADY EXISTS, make sure the Shell line does not have a semicolon before it and reads something like explorer.exe (my comp doesn't have the shell line for some reason). Dont add it if it isn't there (who knows what could happen... ).

If the New Task thing fixed explorer, then Create a shortcut to exploer.exe (the one in C:\Windows\) and put it in the start-up folder ofr all users (C:\documents and settings\all users\programs startup I think). Someone will hopefully tell you the real way to do it.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

i left and came back and its working but u def showed me a lot of stuff i can use...Thanks
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.