Major Comp Prob! Please Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2005, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Unhappy Major Comp Prob! Please Help!

Hi all, im on my other pc right now, my main computer (one in my sig) got DESTROYED by a virus hotoffers.info.

I was on it and ran ad-aware and it found the 2 hijackers but couldent remove it...

I restarted my pc and now a error comes up

smc.exe
The instruction at "0x00536e1" refrenced memory "0x0000000" The memory could not be "read".

Click on OK to terminate the program
Click Cancel to debug the program..

either one i click it shows loading windows xp and doesant go past that.. I can't log in. It just stays there. I tried safe mode and everything!

I have so much on this HDD and I didint back nothing up! I cant afford to lose all my info by formatting!!!!!!! IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO!? Please help I beg anyone that can! please!
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

smc.exe is part of the Sygate Personal Firewall.

smc.exe is located in "C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\".

http://www.kephyr.com/filedb/index.p...wtopic=Smc.exe

you're prolly going to have to repair the installation if you cant get to the desktop. pop the cd in, goto install a new installation, it'll search for existing installations and prompt you to repair it. Go that route and afterwards you'll have to update windows again.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Remember that you haven't technically lost your information on that drive unless the drive is dead or you already reformatted it. It may be a bear to recover if it's heavily infected and can't be cleaned. You always have the option of taking that drive out and putting it into another machine long enough to copy your personal files to another hard disk or CDs or DVDs. The exception to that is anything you've encrypted using the Windows file system.

If you can boot into safe mode and/or safe mode with networking there is hope. Try the repair route like Dope Tech said.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
smc.exe is part of the Sygate Personal Firewall.

smc.exe is located in "C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\".

http://www.kephyr.com/filedb/index.p...wtopic=Smc.exe

you're prolly going to have to repair the installation if you cant get to the desktop. pop the cd in, goto install a new installation, it'll search for existing installations and prompt you to repair it. Go that route and afterwards you'll have to update windows again.
Im not exactly sure what you want me to do? I can't log into my system, becuase the windows does not go past the screen to log into, I start my pc and it sais the error message, then stays at a screen WindowsXP with a blue backrounds

what cd do i pop in? I got sygate from the web, i have it on a disk but that doesant help since i cant log in..

I cant start in safemode, it loads files and shows a log then just freezes.. How would I repair it? I can't do anything.
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

I tried logging in in safe mode, i started in safe mode and it doesant load the sygate error, but it still doesant go past the Windows XP screen with the blue backrounds, it just stays there and does nothing.. Maybe the virus delted something from the registry that windows needs to load the log in screen or something...I dont know but I cant figure anything out....
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 04:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I too would reccomend repairing the installation...Pop in the Windows XP installation CD, then boot from it...then as someone mentioned ^^^

"you're prolly going to have to repair the installation if you cant get to the desktop. pop the cd in, goto install a new installation, it'll search for existing installations and prompt you to repair it. Go that route and afterwards you'll have to update windows again."
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Repairing the install of windows is probably the best solution, as mentioned above.
However, if you have files on the drive that really are important to you, then I would recommend the following :
Before doing the repair :

1. Take drive out of machine & install it in the system you are currently using. Make sure you set it as a slave in the working system so that it boots from the working drive.
(This will work providing that current system is also XP or knackered drive isn't NTFS formatted.)

2. Make sure both drives are detected in Bios

3. Boot to windows in SAFE MODE

4. copy ONLY your own data etc from the knackered drive to the working (C drive.

5. Switch off machine & return the drive to it's original PC (remember to set it back to master)

6. Now, boot from XP CD & carry out the repair install.


This way, if during the repair everything goes tits up, your work etc will be safe on the other machine
Samm is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

so wil I be losing everything on the drive when i repair? Wont the virus still be there? I might as well just format no...?
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Well thanks for your help guys, but I just decided to format lol, I wanted to start fresh anyway.
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the format would be recommended by everyone!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.