Mac OS X and XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2005, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default Mac OS X and XP

is it possible 2 install OS X and XP onto one HD or 2? or is it not possible at all>?
__________________

Sasha1303 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Not possible at all ATM, however you can emulate it very slowly. Eventually when Apple convert to Intel, it will be easy to install X onto a PC.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

that's gonna be cool, I think I might try that, except I doubt it will be compatible with any of my systems...P3, 1 ghz, 384 ram...
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well your processor is very crappy, but you have quite a bit of memory!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

haha yea, i started out with 128, stuck in another 128 later, found a 256 in a box of junk the school was throwing out, replaced one of the 128s..and im like...and that was free? wow...
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

A friend of mine has Mac os X running on a 266mhz Mac g3 with 384mb Ram. You do the conversions giving the maximum leverage = Approx 550mhz.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.