MAC OS X .dmg on XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default MAC OS X .dmg on XP

Ok, so I am working on installing Adobe lightroom (A beta version that comes only for MAC OS X in a .dmg format) on my Windows XP machine. Some people got it to work with programs like MacDrive and UltraISO. I tried those but all I got is an error when I mount it with Daemon tools. Is there anyway I can make my PC read those MAC files? I know is possible since some people did i, but not sure how. Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 05:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Your best bet is to ask the people that did it. Mac apps are not made to run antiavely on PC's and can cause a serious system crash.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default

The people that did it are on some really cheap forum, and they posted once but they won't respond to the thread since they abandoned it, and like I said it's really cheap, can't get their email address or anything
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I've never heard of a DMG file working on a PC. Maybe they had some type of emulator or something? Or you know for a fact they got this working within the XP OS? Meaning they could double click on a shortcut to launch the program and it would launch in XP? or it would launch from XP but within the Emulator? I dont see how XP would ever recognize the DMG format and even at that the Mac specific files once the DMG was mounted...please let us know if you find out
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default

I got it to work, just used some ISO program and converted it into and ISO then just mount it in Daemon Tools

*I think the program was UltraISO
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.