Mac OS on PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Mac OS on PC

i was just thinking now that all the macs are using intel processors is it possible to run mac os on a pc. now for the record i hate mac with a passion its to user friendly and after using the OS for quite some time it annoyed me so much that i switched back but im just trying to defend the pc honor lol because every one is always saying but you can run windows on macs blah blah blah. so can you run mac os on pc's?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Every time this is asked (once every 2 weeks or so), the thread gets locked. I don't know why, i guess MS hates Mac?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

No, you can't. It's something to do with the EULA License agreement (I think that's it), you might as well not ask, or got to a Computer chat.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

well you can and its legal. there is a power pc emulatoin program out there called pearpc, i used to use it and it was fun to run tiger on my AMD. as long as you own the copy of Mac OS i think its perfectly legal. as for locking the thread i think the mods are just being careful and making sure you dont try to do something illegal.

BTW ist not the fun. after using OSX for a few months i got tired of it. there isnt anything that OSX can do that windows cant. i feel more comfortable with 2 mouse buttons anyway.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zmatt
well you can and its legal. there is a power pc emulatoin program out there called pearpc, i used to use it and it was fun to run tiger on my AMD. as long as you own the copy of Mac OS i think its perfectly legal. as for locking the thread i think the mods are just being careful and making sure you dont try to do something illegal.

BTW ist not the fun. after using OSX for a few months i got tired of it. there isnt anything that OSX can do that windows cant. i feel more comfortable with 2 mouse buttons anyway.
that is exactly how i feel. once you go mac you always go back. i hate it hahaha. and i completely agree with the fact that anything mac os can do windows can too.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I don't think MS should be able to control what YOU do with YOUR computer.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Thumbs down "Microsoftness... So cuddily and cute n' sh!t!!!1! >:(...."

Quote:
Originally posted by zmatt
[B]well you can and its legal. there is a power pc emulatoin program out there called pearpc, i used to use it and it was fun to run tiger on my AMD. as long as you own the copy of Mac OS i think its perfectly legal. as for locking the thread i think the mods are just being careful and making sure you dont try to do something illegal.
You also need to download a Mac ROM from the firmware, so you would need to have a Mac anyway if you want to use a PowerPC version of OS X.

PearPC only emulates the PowerPC version of a Mac, not the x86 version.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It is legal to emulate since you need a mac and anyways Mac OS 7.x and lower have been released as freeware by Apple a few years back.
Last time I posted how to do it the thread got locked and moved to the mods' forum and I got a PM from Law...
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

oh well i feel windows is much better anyways. its just every one is so idiotic now and does whatever the TV says with these new mac commercials. its amazing how gullible every one is.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.