lsass.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default lsass.exe

i know that lsass.exe is supposed to be in sys32 but is it also supposed to be in the parent directory of sys32 (for me Z:\XP)? because i have an entry there but the icon is one of those lighter coloured ones (like the colour has faded).
__________________

__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

are you randomly restarting?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default

no im not randomly restarting. but i solved the problem its ok thanks.

i found some other *.exe in my Z:\XP temp folder and got rid of them also (im thinking spyware/virus that zonealarm, adaware and spybot didnt pick up).

anyway its all good, i deleted it to my recycle bin, restarted, saw it didnt complain and got rid of it out my recycle bin so is all good now.

and i have a feeling all this was because it is the first time i have used IE in a long time. i was trying to get some stuff from the microsoft website and it wanted me to use IE. so i did and then forgot to use my other browser and thats how i think i got infected.
__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

iam getting the saem thing on my new system...but its the first time i install windows on this machine ..and i get this lsass.exe error (an invalid parameter has passed to a service or function)and the only option is ok or closeing it..both ways the system reboots ....and its the same thing over again...any ideas how can fix this
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

anything?
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what is the exact error message?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

an invalid parameter has passed to a service or function
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a hijackthis log....

have you tried a system repair?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

i cant even finsh the setup for windows..you know when you nstall for the first time..after its done it reboots to finish steup....i can evn go to safemode ..just reboots..over and over again
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what i would do is use a windows 98 bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com and use windows 98 oem and then boot from it fdisk it and format it, then install xp
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.