Lost Windows Cd key - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2003, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Unhappy Lost Windows Cd key

i want to reinstall windows xp on my computer but i lost the cd key that it came with.. anyone know of a way that i can get my cd key back? (is it like saved somewhere on my computer?) dont worry if theres not a way.. i havent uninstalled it yet... thanks for your help.
__________________

Holydirt is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 05:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

You can find the winXP's key in Window Registry (Open "Run" box and type "regedit"). But I don't remember exactly where it is. Please wait, I'll find it for you.
__________________

Traudong is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

Sorry but I can't find the CD key . So, you try to download XPkeyviewer
Traudong is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default

WOW! that was much easier than expected.. thanks you very much, worked like a charm, you guys are very helpful. thanks again
Holydirt is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

in the future, take the little piece of adhesive paper that the cd key(that came on the package that the os came in) and stick it to your comp. then you should always know where it is
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 11-25-2003, 02:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

It worked great with my computer that has XP home but would not work on one that I have with XP pro. It just says test1 module has encounted a problem and needs to close.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 11-25-2003, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I have tried 2 different programs on the XP pro version and both of them give me the same answer. Don't know what it is about that system that is causing that. Every other system that I try it on works just fine.
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.