Lost my XP MCE disk....Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 11:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

winrar - it will unpack it.

just google and download
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600
GeForce 8800 GT
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
2 gig Crucial
500 gig hdd
Tadow is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekGoodson View Post
What program will help me install a .rar file?
:freak: :freak:
Now it is that type of comment that scares me.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Question Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
:freak: :freak:
Now it is that type of comment that scares me.
Is there ever a problem with someone learning?
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekGoodson View Post
Is there ever a problem with someone learning?
Nah it's cool man. Everyone's been at the point where they didn't know about something and had to learn it. It's just surprising to us that you as a computer shop owner have never heard of torrents or .rar files, as they are pretty commonplace things in computers these days. No worries though mate, keep asking if you have more questions. Everyone's here to help.
__________________
Intel Q6600
GeForce 8800 GT
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
2 gig Crucial
500 gig hdd
Tadow is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
:freak: :freak:
Now it is that type of comment that scares me.
No, this is.

What in the world is a JUMPER?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 03:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadow View Post
Nah it's cool man. Everyone's been at the point where they didn't know about something and had to learn it. It's just surprising to us that you as a computer shop owner have never heard of torrents or .rar files, as they are pretty commonplace things in computers these days. No worries though mate, keep asking if you have more questions. Everyone's here to help.
Ya, thanks man. Even the most advanced Tech (Not Me) has to ask questions that may seem common knowledge for others... I never had to deal with the things I have asked for... Torrents I think are going to come in handy though... New world to me... Thanks again!

Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 03:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekGoodson View Post
Is there ever a problem with someone learning?
No but with todays age of the internet where Google, Ask, Yahoo, Live Search among other things why would you ask a question like that?

Also as Tadow said. Being a shop owner you should at least know about rar's. They are very common now. They are even more common than .zip files.

Torrents i can understand. That was fun even for me to learn. ISO's and slipstreaming is even more fun. But somethign as basic as rar does scare me a bit. Espically asking what it can be installed with.

Remember Google is your friend.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 09:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
Content Team
 
revenge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 360
Talking Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Got license number? Call up Microsoft and tell them to send you another one. I've heard they give out free disc.
hey sorry for nosing my way in but do they actually send you a cd if you have a valid sticker?- and if so, where do i go to ask? (email, phone etc)
revenge2 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

How to replace Microsoft software or hardware, order service packs and product upgrades, or replace product manuals
Try this link for the info revenge
AOneEyedCobra is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:01 AM   #20 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Lost my XP MCE disk....Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by AOneEyedCobra View Post
I was correct!!! LOL
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk drive problems! Bl4ckDmon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-27-2007 08:29 PM
Almost lost 300GB's of data, lolz TheMajor Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-11-2007 07:38 AM
Hard disk trouble TheMajor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2007 07:54 PM
Lost Planet DX10 Demo Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-16-2007 12:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.