Lost/Missing HDD Memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2007, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

Note - i searched for an answer to this and didn't find one, so i thought id let you know before people start flamming about the seach tool if this has already been answered

ht....i've just built myself a new pc and it include a 250GB hard drive...i then installed vista and then the pc was all ready. . . my total usuable amount of memory is 232GB and its says i have 195GB left
that means i used 37GB...
i looked at the properties of my user accounts, program files, and windows folders (those are the only folder i current have as its new)...and they total up to 12.4GB....
but its says ive used 37GB...where the rest being used?
__________________

printscreen25 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

To convert advertised space to windows space: multiply by .93
250GB X .93 = 232.5GB, so that is the correct display of speed.
Next, open C: and select all and go to properties. This should add up to roughly 35GB.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by printscreen25 View Post
Note - i searched for an answer to this and didn't find one, so i thought id let you know before people start flamming about the seach tool if this has already been answered

ht....i've just built myself a new pc and it include a 250GB hard drive...i then installed vista and then the pc was all ready. . . my total usuable amount of memory is 232GB and its says i have 195GB left
that means i used 37GB...
i looked at the properties of my user accounts, program files, and windows folders (those are the only folder i current have as its new)...and they total up to 12.4GB....
but its says ive used 37GB...where the rest being used?
ya some hard drive makers say 250gb as if 1000mb was 1 gb when 1024mb is 1 gb
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
To convert advertised space to windows space: multiply by .93
250GB X .93 = 232.5GB, so that is the correct display of speed.
Next, open C: and select all and go to properties. This should add up to roughly 35GB.
thats more likely than what i said because ur using xp i assume right??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

so im not loosing any memory?

i selected all in my C:...which adds up to 14.4GB
14.4GB x .93 = 13.392GB
but it says im using 40GB (i transfered some music since last post, thats the reasons for the figures increase)


picture from my computer


picture of properties (selected all in c: )


not sure if im picking up the wrong end of what you said tho?

edit: im using vista home premium 32 bit
printscreen25 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by printscreen25 View Post
so im not loosing any memory?

i selected all in my C:...which adds up to 14.4GB
14.4GB x .93 = 13.392GB
but it says im using 40GB (i transfered some music since last post, thats the reasons for the figures increase)

see image



not sure if im picking up the wrong end of what you said tho?

edit: im using vista home premium 32 bit
ya... then what i said works then....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

system cache? pagefile? lost partition?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ya... then what i said works then....
how? theres 15 gb missing
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

You dont have hidden files listed, although im not sure on how much room they would take up.....
saladfork is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

vista takes up 15 gig by itself. your space is in the hidden files and folders
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 10:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Lost/Missing HDD Memory?

i set folder options to "show hidden files and folders"
then i opened c:
and selected all, and it came to
16.4GB

:S
__________________

printscreen25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
USB Flash Memory Drive Insectduel Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-19-2007 02:44 PM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.