Losing Service Pack 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 04:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default Losing Service Pack 2

Is it possible to uninstall itself??

The reason I ask is, that at one of my schools I have updated the suite to pcs to SP2.


Now after checking them for updates, I have noticed that some of them have reverted back to SP1!!

Now I thought I had forgoting some b4 and have reinstalled SP2 to make sure. It seems to be the same Pcs as before.

Is it possible that somthing is causing the service to remove itself?

I know I havent forgoting as I have done the whole suite!
__________________

stuartkeith is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Sorry for the late reply. I didn't see your thread.

You can uninstall SP2 if it wasn't bundled with your version of XP (if you bought XP with SP2 integrated, it's there forever).

To uninstall Service Pack 2, go to Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Locate "Windows XP Service Pack 2.

The reason it's uninstalling itself is...kids
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

The problem is that I WANT SP2 and that it removes itself from the PC.

I then re install and it will remove agian after some use!!
stuartkeith is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Are the computer('s) powerful enough for SP2? Don't forget that it has firewall and antivirus monitoring, might hog up the processor
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

stuartkeith there are too many possibilities really, I suggest you do some more detective work and try to get more of an idea whats happening.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

system restore? is system restore on?
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.