Looking for a friend.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2003, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Talking Looking for a friend....

well, in a sense anyway.

I am going to install RedHat 8... again. And I am not gonna quit until I can atleast navigate and install things with no problems. I have tried before, but get discouraged because I am always trying to teach myself and have no one to turn to when something goes wrong.

If there is a "Linux Pro" out there that has time and patience for totally n00b questions... will you be my friend?

LOL.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-08-2003, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

I am no where near a pro, but If you have questions feel free to post here. I know quite a bit and will answe whenever I can. I am checking every few min from 3pm-Midnight except for tue and sun, EST.

LINUX RULES!
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-09-2003, 07:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

Hell ya, I've formatted my laptop entirerly to RedHat 8, damn I'm lovin' it! I only have one issue, and that's my new Kodak CX4200 Digital Camera, there's no drivers out yet (at least that I can find) but other than that...Linux does more for me than XP ever did, plus I feel a little more comfortable when I leave my computer on when I'm connected to my cable modem

I may also be able to answer questions you may have...once again No Pro here, but I know enough to delete Windows completely, so that's gotta count for something. hahahha.
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to h4x0r
Default

I will kinda be ure friend because I kinda know linux. But now Redhat though, Mandrake, but still the basics are the same. Just IM me if u want to talk, AIM: dryicerx
h4x0r is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Thanks for the replies everyone. As soon as I get it installed, the games will begin. lol.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

OK... guys... let the stupid questions roll... lol.

I installed RH 8.0 tonight. Here is what I need to know how to do so far:

Basic Terminal Commands
How to install stuff that is not RPM
Basic knowlege things that you think I should know.

Thanks. I know I am ignorant of Linux so let's keep the wise-cracks to a minimum... lol. =)
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Direct question:

I downloaded Yahoo! Messenger, it was an RPM (thank-goodness), I clicked it, it installed it.... now where the F&*K did it go? lol.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

LOL@MB

Heh... well... I got ymessenger to install and can use it by running ymessenger in the run box, and thankfully it added it to my desktop.

But I still don't know where the damn thing is...
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 10:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

you performed the install as the root user, correct?
Seloce is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

no.

I don't stay logged on as root, I hear that that is bad practice, so I have a user name, and I installed it under that.

OK. My home directory is "/home/Guy" and somehow I found the Yahoo folder in "/home/Guy/.ymessenger" and I am guessing that that is the linux version of a hidden folder?

Is there anyway to see these without stumbling onto them?
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.