login pw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default login pw

Hey, I was just wondering if someone could tell me how to set up a password when starting your computer up, so you would have to type in the password in order to be able to log into the account, you know? Ive tried google'n it, but I didn't find what I wanted to.
thanks
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforum...tml#post201127
Quote:
If you simply must set a BIOS password, know that if you lose it, you lose access to your machine until you drop $50-$200 to fix it. In order to set a BIOS password, you must first load your BIOS configuration. You load the configuration by pressing a key or combination of keys during the POST (Power-On Self-Test). The key you press varies but is usually Del, F2, or F8. If you look at the information displayed during the POST, you will see that it tells you what key to use (if you only see a power-on splash screen, press escape to remove that screen and show the POST information). Once you access the BIOS configuration, it is fairly easy to figure out how to set the password.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
If you simply must set a BIOS password, know that if you lose it, you lose access to your machine until you drop $50-$200 to fix it.
That's not true you just pull the battery or reset the cmos to remove the bios password. What OS are you using? Xp I will asume. Just go into control panel and and user accounts and click on change account and then add password.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
That's not true you just pull the battery or reset the cmos to remove the bios password. What OS are you using? Xp I will asume. Just go into control panel and and user accounts and click on change account and then add password.
Yes, I am using windows XP, sorry for not including that in my last post. Thanks for the info Fdude, lol, so simple to do it
Ksingler is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
That's not true you just pull the battery or reset the cmos to remove the bios password. What OS are you using? Xp I will asume. Just go into control panel and and user accounts and click on change account and then add password.

That is true is a lot of cases...
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
That is true is a lot of cases...
You mean the bios password?? How can it keep a password if you remove the battery?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Default

i think we can keep the password even though we pull out the bios battery , by setting the password in the bios , not sure but i think so,
__________________
cuong
snoopyAU is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by snoopyAU
i think we can keep the password even though we pull out the bios battery , by setting the password in the bios , not sure but i think so,
by removing the battery, you reset your cmos settings back to the factory defaults.

if the default setting is to have a bios password, then it will be set as the default password. You are prompted for a bios password, if one is enabled, during the machine's POST. This password is not managed by the OS.

i should have known better than to post the quote stating you'll need to shell out 150 bucks. There's another alterantive to pulling the battery. You mobo should have a three prong jumper that is used to reset the cmos as well; see bios docs.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.