Logging on problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 10:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

****, you need to click disable all, then rechck your antivirus and reboot, then I bet that fixes your problem
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I had nearly every one disabled, except for antivirus and a few things i wanted (like the volume panel and daemon, and some of the ones for my x-fi sound card) when my problem started.
Ill try with just a few and see what happens.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I tried disableing all but the antivirus but still no improvements.

Let me describe it better. After I click on the user icon, it goes to the next screen, the one with the "Welcome" on one half and the user picture/name/"loading personal settings" on the other, and just sits there. After about a minute, it shows my background picture, but none of the icons on the desktop, or any other part of windows.

Also, when i open up the task manager while i'm waiting for something to happen, there are about 30 or so processes running. Most of them have "svc" somewhere in their name.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how many is most? you should only have 4 to 7 svchost entries..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I have 5 svchost entries, but there are other ones, not svchost, but part of their name is "svc." I'll try to get a complete list.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Here is a screenshot of the processes. The ones with the blue lines next to them come up after i logged in successfully.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

DLLML.exe - Creative DLL Module Loader
avgcc.exe - AVG Anti-Virus Control Center
ctxfispi.exe - Creative
i_view32.exe - irfanview
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I know what those are, i just meant to mark them to let you know that those are ones that don't come up until a successfull login. All of the others show up when its trying to log in.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.