Local disk auto assigned to I: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Local disk auto assigned to I:

I just re-installed windows onto a PC with a new HDD. The HDD got assigned as I: instead of C:

This REALLY causes problems with installers and pretty much anything to do with the hard drive because it auto-assumes the Local Disk is C:

Can I change it to C:?
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

EDIT: adjust these instructions to your situation if you need a walk through i can rewrite them.

1.

Make a full system backup of the computer and system state.
2.

Log on as an Administrator.
3.

Start Regedt32.exe (or Regedit.exe in Windows XP).
4.

Go to the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices

5.

Click MountedDevices.
6.

On the Security menu, click Permissions.
7.

Check to make sure Administrators have full control. Change this back when you are finished with these steps.
8.

Quit Regedt32.exe, and then start Regedit.exe.
9.

Go to the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\MountedDevices

10.

Find the drive letter you want to change to (new). Look for "\DosDevices\C:".
11.

Right-click \DosDevices\C:, and then click Rename. In Windows 2000 you must use Regedit instead of Regedt32 to rename this registry key.
12.

Rename it to an unused drive letter "\DosDevices\Z:". (This will free up drive letter C: to be used later.)
13.

Find the drive letter you want changed. Look for "\DosDevices\D:".
14.

Right-click \DosDevices\D:, and then click Rename.
15.

Rename it to the appropriate (new) drive letter "\DosDevices\C:".
16.

Click the value for \DosDevices\Z:, click Rename, and then name it back to "\DosDevices\D:".
17.

Quit Regedit, and then start Regedt32 (not required in Windows XP).
18.

Change the permissions back to the previous setting for Administrators (this should probably be Read Only).
19.

Restart the computer.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Did that...computer won't boot anymore, gets up to where you would normally select a user and sticks.

Tried to use windows recovery console's FIXMBR and FIXBOOT commands to see if that would help....nothing.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

cant do that. the only way to do this is to reinstall
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

hmm, how can I make sure it doesn't reinstall as I: again?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how did you reinstall in the first place? did you boot from cd and then install xp or did you run xp setup from the desktop then reboot and install?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

It's a brand new HD.


I booted from the windows CD and installed.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well one things you can do it take the power off all your other hdds, cd drives and floppy
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I will try that. Thanks.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

It should read as the C:\ when you are installing XP and get to the point of the install where it asks you to partition. Is it displaying as C:\ there or as I:\? If you have a digitcal camera reader with say 7 slots be sure that is discconected as I have found that to make the drive letters funky.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.