loads of errors! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default loads of errors!

i have just had a look in administrive tools/event viewer and theres loads of errors they shouldnt be there surely??
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

error ;perfnet, error; mclogevent error; application hang theres quite a few of each, these are all in applicatio section of event viewer!

in system section there is some aswell,, error; acpiec. under the properties of it, it says, the embedded controller (EC) hardware didnt respond within the timeout period This may indicate an error in EC hardware or firmware or possibly a poorly designed bios which accesses the EC in an unsafe manner. The EC driver will retry the failed transaction if possible.

other errors include, a warning saying windows file protection, the protected system file ......... could not be verified as valid because windows file protection is terminating!
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

All of these problems you are having, might make sense you reinstall XP
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

what way should i go about reinstalling xp?
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

what do i use?
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

will doing this wipe all my documents off??
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have an xp cd?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

it didnt come with my computer, it is for distribution wit a new hp or compaq, it says on it, OS cd Microsoft windows xp pro SP2, Contains software and drivers already installed for reinstallation and repair only.
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do the repair then...do you know how to do it?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

when i put it in, it says install windows xp proffesional bla blaa, shall i click that?
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.