little odd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default little odd

After my graphics crash my desktop has got the power management icon from a laptop installed in the toolbar lol telling me that it is running of AC power which is obvious as it is a desktop

saltynay is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: little odd

Uninstall it? Maybe a widget, no, that would be on the desktop. Did you reinstall your graphics drivers and may have done some other maintenence by accident? I have never seen that pop up by itself before, actually, I have never seen that at all. Is it Microsoft, or a third party app?

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 04:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Kharn's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: little odd

That is a odd glitch, I though it didn't install the laptop drivers / other laptop specific stuff when it was on a desk top?
Visit this and do something for the world!

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: little odd

haven't done anything except go system restore when graphics crashed I restored to one day before I don't mind I just thought it was a little odd that my desktop with all desktop components would suddenly think that it was a laptop for no real reason. One thing that does annoy me though is its not connected to the internet but it keeps trying to install windows updates but it can't have windows updates because its not connected to the net......
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: little odd

Try to go into display properties, screen saver, Power, use the drop down and switch it to, Home Office desk. That is if it says laptop in the box.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.