Linux and Windows ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2005, 08:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default Linux and Windows ...

Hi:

I just downloaded Linux on my computer.
I downloaded 3 files which are about 700 MB each and the file extension is .iso..
Whatr kind of software do I need to install these files and how is it done.
How do you install Linux having these 3 files.
I also need to do a new partition on my computer , right ?


Thanks !
__________________

allan16 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You first need to burn them on CD using Nero or some kind of ISO burner. The files inside the ISO have to be extracted and burned to a CD. So don't just burn the ISO files on a disc. Use "Burn Image" in Nero for example.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

Get a cd burning program and burn them as Image Burn, come up o be a ISO file and thats all and then reboot the computer make sure its on so it reads cds firsts. Then it will boot your Linux Distro.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yea, any burning program should have an option to burn ISO images.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

Ok...So I'll burn the images on the CD's ...

I will re-start my PC with the first CD in the CD-ROM right ?
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, but the CD-ROM drive has to be set as the first boot device in the BIOS settings.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

hey:

I'm ready to burn the cd's using Nero.
The last step where I have the "Burn" button there is a check box that says "Create Image". Shoul I check that box ?
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Not needed. It's just so you can store an image (eg. an ISO file) on your hard disk with the files you are burning to the disc.
Did you select Burn Image when starting a new project?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

yes I did..
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

OK, good luck.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.