Linux Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2003, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default Linux Help

I'm thinking about buying a cheap computer to run Linux, but I'm having some trouble understand some things...

Like, how exactly would I go about installing Debian?

I know that first I'd download the Debian distribution...
Then would I download X Windows or something?
And then what about KDE or Gnome?

Ahh, if someone could sort out the whole process for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Oh, and which is better, KDE or Gnome?
__________________

__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

All of the stuff is in the download of Linux.

You download the .iso files off of the internet and then burn them to a cd, make sure that you burn the image as "bootable" and then put the first disk in, restart your computer and it should go through the install proccess....Everything should configure up now, but you might want to make sure that the hardware on the computer is compatable with linux or has drivers on the internet somewhere. And just go through the install, boot up and you have linux.

BTW: Gnome!!
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Thanks, but...

A) How do I choice whether I want Gnome or KDE?

B) Why Gnome?
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

You make the choice by using both of them and seeing which one you find the most functional / best looking. Personally I prefer Gnome, simply because I like the look and feel a bit better than KDE.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-10-2003, 11:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

So I install one, try it, then install the other, and try it?
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 01:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

You can install multiple desktop managers, and then when you login you'll be able to choose between gnome, kde, enlightenment, window maker and a ton of other ones....
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 02:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Coolness :-D. Lol I know I'm a newbie, shutup...

Can I set it to start up with one as the default, so I don't have to choose every time?
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 05:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

yea, the bootloaders have a "default" os that you can select, and it will boot that os in around 10 seconds since the bootloader loads......
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 12:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Enough of the "......"s--it's quite obvious that I don't know anything, you don't have to rub it in...
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 04:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

i always do that.... it's not meant to be anything.
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.