Linux CD names - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2002, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Linux CD names

Ok. I downloaded the Linux Mandrake 9.0 ISO images (all 3 of them), and extracted them then copied to CD. What do I label the CDs?

I am able to boot up with a floppy created from rawritewin.exe and the CD that I created, but in the install interface it tries to access the CD and says that this is not a Linux Mandrake CD.

Any ideas. I have all of the files copied correctly on the CD, think I just don't have the naming convention down for the CD
__________________

__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

doh, ur not supposed to extract them. You need to burn the ISO images directly using nero or something. Then label them cd 1,2,3. You boot directly to CD1 and off you go.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Thanks

Man,
I am feeling bright. You mean just copy the iso file to the cd using nero?
__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

yep, just take the directories for each cd and burn them to a cd...no need to extract anything. Just burn those directories to the CD's 1,2,3.

Good Luck!
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

no, no, no, no ,no. In nero you need to actually LOAD the ISO and burn it. there should be an option under the file menu for load image file.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Okay just so Im clear

Alright,
I am burning the iso image straight to the CD.

For instance I am copying the file Mandrake90-cd3-i18n.i586.iso directly to my CD and I am labeling that CD "CD1"

Am I doing this right?
__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default oops

I mean CD 3 --- heh
__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

I've never used nero...opps my bad
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default cds are cheap

Okay ecniv,
Just saw your message... I am searching Nero for how to load an ISO.
__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 10:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default Woohoo!

Okay,
You were right as usual vince -- ecniv thanks for the help.

I went to "File>Burn Image" within Nero and the rest was a piece of cake.
__________________

__________________
Brahm -- nothing fancy
brahm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.