linux?????? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2003, 11:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

ok here goes....

Advantages:
More Secure
More Powerful
More Customizable
Open Source (People around the world are contributing to it)
Constantly Advancing
Free

Disadvantages:
Compatability (Most windows programs and games will not work on it, and if they do, usually work poorly)
Difficult learning curve (Completely different from windows)
Not for the Novice user
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 03:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

You can see 2 pictures here...

http://www.tech-heaven.com/gallery/s...r=2141&thumb=1

They're at the bottom. Or just do a search on google for Linux Screenshot
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 03:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 79
Default

ok so i have done that but now it wont pick it up, y? it does in the bios settings but not in windows, i cant boot to linux, only windows, and windows doesnt recognise the harddrive, any input?
b.dave is offline  
Old 02-02-2003, 03:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Windows wont recognize the linux partition if its formatted as ext2.

You probably need to boot to the linux cd again and re-install LILO or some other bootloader.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 02-03-2003, 03:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 79
Default ok so i only seem to have lilo

ok so i seem to only have lilo, do i have to set lilo up? or is it automatic, i have suse 7.0 thats it, i also have bootmagic for picking an os when i boot up?

but what is wrong could it be jumper settings?

also what do i have to put in the list for booting linux, the swap file, ext2 what?
__________________

b.dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.