Limited or No Connection (WinXP) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2005, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Question Limited or No Connection (WinXP)

Just receiving a TCP/IP connection error that tells me I have a "Limited or No Connection."

This network used DHCP through DNS, of which I have tried a DHCP-assigned address and a static IP address, both of which still result in the same error.

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

http://help.prodigy.net/help/safety/...nectivity.html
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...+Connection%22

GOOD LUCK
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

Thanks for the links, but the Prodigy links just tell me how to check and uncheck the warning box, assuming I didn't know to check the IE browser myself. No real solution, but I'll google some more, I guess.

Or I could check Microsoft's "Infinite" Knowledge Base. Heh.
__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

ugh....i just fixed this problem 2 nights ago on my buddies.....and i forget!!!
it was a first time occurance for me....i'll try to think what i did and get back if no one else has helped....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I also faced the same issue i.e. "Limited or not connection"
with my computer (DHCP Addressing). It is most probably caused when your computer is not able to renew its IP from the DHCP.

In my case it went away after a while on its own.
Try doing the following things:

When you get the error, open command prompt and type:

ipconfig

if it shows 169.*.*.* or 0.0.0.0 your computer is not able to get ip.
try doing:

ipconfig /renew

Apart from the above check:

1. your network cable
2. ping the dhcp server from some other computer and do ipconfig /release & ipconfig /renew there to see if DHCP is on the network.

--Vikas
Vikas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.