a lil' SP2 question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default a lil' SP2 question...

I just wanted to know if the the service pack 2 firewall is enough? or would i have to install another firewall like zonealarm.
__________________

__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Browz,

Windows sp2 seems to have a good firewall,but Iam fraid its not enough. You wont have much options in using sp2 firewall.

Get Zonealarm, yea, its very good.

Sign
Codes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The SP2 firewall is great, but having just one line of defence is never a good idea. Plus, unless you really know a lot about how firewalls work, many of the advanced features of the SP2 firewall can be a bit tricky to get under control.

You're best off having at least a 3rd party product running (like ZoneAlarm), and definately don't forget your anti-virus and spyware software, too. Firewalls don't protect you from everything.

And as a last note, if you do use the SP2 firewall (which I do recommend) I would highly suggest you read the basic documentation about it, as it's full of neat stuff you should know. Just like any firewall, you should know how to use it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

You can get a free firewall from downloads.com. Sygate and Zonealarm both offer free firewalls there.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I wouldn't trust a firewall by Microsoft...PROBABLY FULL OF FLAWS! Just use a free one, even that would better than the new XP firewall.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
I wouldn't trust a firewall by Microsoft...PROBABLY FULL OF FLAWS!
ha ha..lol , but sp2 is pretty gud, not that 'bad'.! Microsoft have the best programmers working on their products, its just there wide usage that makes it vulnerable to attacks.


Sign
Codes
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

We're running SP2's firewall at work, and so far it hasn't missed anything. In fact, since installing it, we've had less problems company-wide than before, with a dramatic decrease in Windows-specific attacks (worms/viruses). ZoneAlarm has yet to raise a finger at anything.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 04:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

cool, thanks for all the reply's, i'll get zonealarm. i will also see what i can do with the xp firewall.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yes the firewall in Microsoft Service Pack 2 should be enough to protect your computer. However, it is a good idea to run a 3rd party firewall in addition to this. Like others have mentioned, ZoneAlarm offers outstanding security at no cost whatsoever.

To test your security, I highly reccomend paying a visit to www.grc.com and performing the Shields Up test. This will help determine whether or not you are vulnerable to Internet attacks.
__________________

m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.