Like to start a little local job - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2007, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default Like to start a little local job

I would like to go about peoples homes and clean the pc up from virus / spyware they cant seem to remove themselfs. Just as a little side job. Any ideas on what programs it would take if i run into something badly infected? If your willing to talk im willing to listin


thanks

boo
__________________

__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

use warez's guide
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

There are hundreds of programs would could take. Everything from Spybot to Avast! to Zone Alarm free version.

Each PC is unique with its problems and therefor has to be treated that way. No way you know for sure what these people want on their PC. If someone wants Norton cause they trust its name you have to give them Norton. That is what they asked for.

Your best bet is to talk to them first. Find out what they want. That way you can go into each job prepared with what they want. Not what you want to give them.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ben_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

kaspersky internet security
nod32
spyware doctor
stuff like that hjt find out what the problem is and get a tool for that specific problem
ben_ben is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Smile Re: Like to start a little local job

Quote:
Originally Posted by boo View Post
I would like to go about peoples homes and clean the pc up from virus / spyware they cant seem to remove themselfs. Just as a little side job. Any ideas on what programs it would take if i run into something badly infected? If your willing to talk im willing to listin


thanks

boo
AVG, AD-Aware SE.
Do what I did. I made my own business cards and started giving them out to customers or anyone. My computer was paid thanks to those people who had all them virus/spyware. Also, lots of people now days want wireless dsl setup and don't know how....guess who they call?

As far as virus programs. I install both avg, adware and also comodo firewall for them. All these are free but I charge customers $35-$50 to install them. In lots of cases though, I'm forced to do a complete windows reinstall due to badly infected comps.

Hey, that's better than the $70 and up that bestbuy, circuit city or other places charge and they don't go to the customers house.

I make more money off of the repairs whether software or hardware than building a computer and selling it.

Anyways, good luck.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 07:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

u should bare in mind . people dont like Warez Programs on there PC's , so you must as them first !!!
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
u should bare in mind . people dont like Warez Programs on there PC's , so you must as them first !!!
I don't even ask since most of my customers never even had an antivirus or spyware program installed on their computer and that's why they call me. Whether they want one or not, they are going to get it installed otherwise they will be paying more money in the long run. Besides these programs don't hog their computer and I personally use them myself.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2duo View Post
AVG, AD-Aware SE.
Do what I did. I made my own business cards and started giving them out to customers or anyone. My computer was paid thanks to those people who had all them virus/spyware. Also, lots of people now days want wireless dsl setup and don't know how....guess who they call?

As far as virus programs. I install both avg, adware and also comodo firewall for them. All these are free but I charge customers $35-$50 to install them. In lots of cases though, I'm forced to do a complete windows reinstall due to badly infected comps.

Hey, that's better than the $70 and up that bestbuy, circuit city or other places charge and they don't go to the customers house.

I make more money off of the repairs whether software or hardware than building a computer and selling it.

Anyways, good luck.
See this is wrong. You charge people up to $50 to isntall free software that they can click a few mouse buttons to isntall? If they knew about this you would be out of business real fast.

I can understand the DSL and other things you do but charging people to install free software is ********. If anything you charge then like $20 for labor. Anything more than that and you are just ****ing greedy.

I have done so many PC repairs of this sort. People call and ask about stupid stuff. You have to give them all their options. Just giving them AVG is not the right choice. What if they want Avast!? What if they want NOD32? You limit them to what you want. Just cause it is a quick solution for you doesnt make it the right one. Let them know they have other options and let them decide. Tell them you honest opinion of each.

Plus BestBuy does go to people's houses with the Geek Squad. Yes they charge a **** of a lot more but still. There are other services, which are more well known than you.

Be honest with the people. The more honest you are with them. The more you will have Repeat Customers. Whether it be for other issues, referals, or help buying a new PC.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Talking Re: Like to start a little local job

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
See this is wrong. You charge people up to $50 to isntall free software that they can click a few mouse buttons to isntall? If they knew about this you would be out of business real fast.

I can understand the DSL and other things you do but charging people to install free software is ********. If anything you charge then like $20 for labor. Anything more than that and you are just ****ing greedy.

I have done so many PC repairs of this sort. People call and ask about stupid stuff. You have to give them all their options. Just giving them AVG is not the right choice. What if they want Avast!? What if they want NOD32? You limit them to what you want. Just cause it is a quick solution for you doesnt make it the right one. Let them know they have other options and let them decide. Tell them you honest opinion of each.

Plus BestBuy does go to people's houses with the Geek Squad. Yes they charge a **** of a lot more but still. There are other services, which are more well known than you.

Be honest with the people. The more honest you are with them. The more you will have Repeat Customers. Whether it be for other issues, referals, or help buying a new PC.
First of all, calm down!
One thing that I ALWAYS tell my clients is to compare my price with other places(I'm fluent in spanish and most of my business is from spanish speaking clients). And you know what, I'm always the cheapest and I always get their business. I inform them that I charge for the visit, advice, installing and teaching them how to use the software, and the time I spend there. I never charge $ for free software. As a matter of fact, I tell them to inform other friends and relatives of these programs and encourage them to also download them.
But guess what, the problem is that they don't know how to download it or don't know how to set it up. They are afraid to mess with a computer that's already giving them problems.
As far as repeat business, it happens often. Shoot, If anything, word of mouth has helped me more than the business cards.

So don't get all puffed up 'cus I charge a very computer illiterate person $50 for my service. I'm not saying those programs are the best(unlike you who's pointing out other software), but they are easy to use and they WORK!

P.S. Greedy? Right. I charge $50 and geeksquad charges how much? One client told me that he took his puter to bestbuy and he paid them $ $250 basically to reformat and reinstall windows. R U kidding me? And you're tripping 'cus I charge $50 to do the same? Whatever bro!
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Software Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 632
Default Re: Like to start a little local job

Quote:
Greedy? Right I charge $50 and geeksquad charges how much? Whatever bro!
I do it for free.
__________________

jaeusm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The local device name is already in use troubledguy22 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 06-06-2007 08:22 AM
My new laptop won't start HELP! KingFisher9 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-13-2007 05:21 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM
Slooow start up with KAV and Z.A firewall Willeh Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-09-2007 01:31 PM
anyway i can know if a firewall has been installed on a local machine rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-01-2007 06:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.