Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

So i built this system the other day with the following specs

Q9450 @2.6 Stock
4gb ddr3 1333 7-7-7-20 1.85v
Evga 790i Ultra
2x Seagate 500gb in Raid0
Evga 9800gx2
Vista64bit Ultimate

First thing first getting the Raid0 setup before Vista install was a nightmare, I ended up putting the drivers on a flash drive. After hours of Installing the OS and Up to date drivers i thought i would be good to go. But that was not the case at all.

After 2 successful boots it started to Hang on startup until it randomly decided to boot to windows 2 restarts later. Windows would be stable for a few hours then BSOD out of no were would hit me in the face. Random Bsod's left and right, and on top of that the thing wouldn't install Windows updates because when it went to shut down and update it would freeze and or BSOD. I have reinstalled about a half a dozen times and the ram seems to be fine from what memtest is telling me. Gah!
__________________

melioz is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

First off there is something wrong with your config if it takes you more than 20 Minutes to install Vista.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 08:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

Well, Vista did install pretty fast. By Hours i guess i meant the total time Figuring out Raid0 drivers and the most stable 64 bit drivers for my parts.
melioz is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

Okay. I was gonna say. Vista should take no more than 20 minutes. Maybe 30 miuntes.

So now my question comes in...

What Raid? It doesn really serve a purpose.

What applications do you have installed and what do teh dumps say is causing this issues?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 09:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

I have written most of them down, So i could google em, But not allot of luck.
Here is an example:

0x0000007e (0xfffffffc0000005 0xfffff80001c5e251, 0xfffff 980012da428, 0xfffff980012d9e00

That was the most common one.

I Lost the other one i wrote down, but i remember it contained intelppm.sys fffff980042422ac.
melioz is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

I gave up on trying to install vista to a raid drive. It just doesnt like to cooperate with it. You're better off just giving vista a 100g partition and using the rest as data.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

I just picked up a Adaptec RAID card since I'm going to be moving around a lot of big files soon on a normal basis, I'm also using Vista-64bit. I'm really hopeing I don't run into any problems getting Vista to work on a RAID-0 :/
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 07:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

i tried running raid scsi drives... god what a nightmare that was in vista. haha. it was also server 08 which was awful. moral of the story, just use the 2 drives.. lol.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

Haha, yea I'm about to take this raid card back.

I can install Vista on it just fine, but when I got into boot windows can't verify a digital signature for-

\windows\system32\drivers\adp3121.sys

Which is, I'm 99% postitive, and Adaptec file it doesn't like. AKA, Vista probably doesn't support this raid card. Sweet dude. Now I get to drive 30min out to where I got it, awesome life.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 09:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Lightning fast... When it works! (Vista 64)

When it came to your nightmares with raid0 did this ever come up? Vista Freeze on startup randomly then start fine after Manual restart? Also Freezing when trying to shut down and Hdd lights would show no activity when something like that would happen. I think my problem must be the raid stripe because i have Tested my Ram For hours with memtest, also tested my Gpu under stress testing. Mobo looks good from what i understand and that leaves my Raid0 setup as a culprit to my unstable Vista experience, Right? lol

P.s As noted up top i have a mobo that has built in raid Nvidia stripe to be exact.
__________________

melioz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Refresh 2 is Vista SP1 RTM Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-12-2008 03:59 PM
Windows Vista SP1 WGA Changes Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-10-2008 10:59 AM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.