Licensing Issue... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2005, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 45
Default Licensing Issue...

A friend of mine wanted to upgrade his machines at his office so he went to dell's website and bought 15 dimension 8400 machines with windows home on them. Well...he uses active directory at the office and did not realize that home did not support active directory. To remedy the situation he wants to either ship the machines back to buy xp pro computers, buy an upgrade, or completly get rid of the active directory all together. There are 15 machines. In everyones opinion, what is the best method to take care of this?

pendo007 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

contact dell see if you can swap. you want to get pcs with pro on it.

office politics is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Purchase XP Pro Corp. (I dont know if they sell this). Corp does not need to be activated and is pretty much open licensed.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Wow, no offense to you, but yer friend's an idiot. Didn't he read anything or even wonder why one is called "Home" and the other "Professional"?

Anyway, he should call DELL and explain the situ to them and see what they can do. They'll probably laugh their heads off, and when they're done, they'll likely have him send things back (hardware or software or both). They're likely not going to just send him software because that'll be a risk for breach of license.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105

Couldn't have said it better myself.

I suggest getting new machines with windows xp pro. Dell will probably not mind switching, or giving him his money back as long as the computers are still in good shape.
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.