Legally... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2003, 06:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

In accordiance with M$ EULA, you are authorized to install any legally owned Microsoft Product onto your home pc, and your laptop. You can infact call microsoft via the 800 # and transfer ownership of any product. In doing that it becomes the sole ownership of the purchaser and you must remove it from all machines in your ownership. I hope this helps..
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-25-2003, 10:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

he/she no longer can use the upgrade because upon upgrading you must prove that you owned a "legal" copy of a previous O.S. so the upgrade should either go with the ME or a full version purchased. And win ME is no longer supported..
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-26-2003, 08:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

an upgrade of XP requires you to have previously installed or have the OS CD for 98, 98SE or ME
- I have used my upgrade CD for installing over 98, and when I did my second installation (same computer) I installed a fresh installation but it prompted me to put in my 98 CD for proof that I had a previous OS, so I put it in, it verified, and told me to put back the XP CD and it installed
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.