last known good configuration help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default last known good configuration help!!

Well. I did loadsa stuff on my comp and its all fine, but when I restarted it said, safe mode, etc and last known good configuration. I pressed that, what does it change. Registry, or hardweare changes?
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If your machine was operating fine prior to this choice, It shouldn't affect much.

It affects drivers, installed software ( registry entries ) and settings.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Say like you install a driver, and its corrupted, your system becomes unstable and such, use system restore or last known good config and it resets your system back to when it was working properly
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

its helped me once when i stupidly set the res. too high for the monitor.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yea I noticed its been hit or miss with that choice. Sometimes it works great and sometimes it does nothing. I remember reading a long long time ago in one of my books excatly that what the diff was between this and system restore. Let me see if I can dig it up just for reference.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

It has gotten me outta plenty of jams, that and system restore.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

supprisingly sys. restore hasnt helped me yet.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.