large hard drive spaces / gaps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2005, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default large hard drive spaces / gaps

P4 3.2 Ghz 800FSB
WD 160gb Sata HD
Nvidia 6600gt Pci-EX
1 GB Kinston Mem
Asus P5GD1 S775 Main
LG 4163b DVD Drive

Hi,


I have searched far and beyond to find the answer to this question but to no avail. Hopefully somebody out there knows the answer to my question.

My Defrag drive map, (using any defrag program ie diskeeper, perfectdisk, o&o), shows a large free space gap between data. Most of the data starts at the beginning , but a large chunk, including page file is in the middle of the drive. The space between my two data chunks is about 1/3 my drive. This bothers me. I want to know if this is normal. I would ideally like to see all the data from the beginning with no free space gaps, i know it was like this before. I dont know what has happened to change it. I have tried numerous defrag progarms to resolve my issue, none have changed the overall map.
I currently have 91% free space, my system is one month old with basically only games, music and utility programs on it.
I would really like to re-sort my drive (even if it takes time) so that it is one chunk not two.
Thank you for your replies,
Vaderpro.
__________________

vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think its normal. I have it all the time.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I didn't defrag, but I am pretty sure it will not move everything to the beginning of the drive:



__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

thanks major, how did u get get that picture in the post? maybe u should defrag and let me know, try perfectdisk 7.0 free download.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe you're right. I rarely defrag.

I prefer O&O Prof, but I won't defrag now, going to bed soon.

Press Print Screent > paste in paint.
Go to www.imageshack.us to upload the pic.
Use the "img" tag to post the image.


Code:
[img ]http://www.site.com/pic.jpg[/img]

Remove the space after "[img"

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Just loaded O&O. It looks like the space is reserved to MFT data.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Why not defrag when you're going to bed? Its the best time to do it IMO. No wasted downtime, provided you computer doent sound like a vacum cleaner.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I also have a large area of free space and the mft is part of the middle area (diskeeper shows mft)
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I am not allowed to leave my comp running when I am sleeping

But I am defragging at the moment. Its very fast, not really fragmented.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
I also have a large area of free space and the mft is part of the middle area (diskeeper shows mft)
Same here.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.