Laptop Won't Burn CDs in Media Player - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2006, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Laptop Won't Burn CDs in Media Player

So I'm working on this laptop for a customer. The drive's fine since cds burn in Explorer and CyberLink just fine but they always error out towards the end when burned in Media Player. The woman who owns the computer is too dumb to burn them in another program and needs WMP to do it, nothing else will suffice.
The result is the same with WMP9 and 11, even freshly installed. No programs are running in the background that shouldn't be and the result is also the same when they're turned off. Any Ideas?
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Then use something else.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Laptop Won't Burn CDs in Media Player

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
The woman who owns the computer is too dumb to burn them in another program and needs WMP to do it, nothing else will suffice.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

What kind of burner is it? Could possibly be the settings in WMP? I tried burning a DVD in WMP, it didn't like that at all...
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yeah tell her WMP is the worst app to use for burning.

ImgBurn, Nero among others are way better. If she refuses to use a different app she is just to lazy to learn how to click a few buttons and shouldnt use a PC in the first place.

Not to sound harsh but WMP sucks when burning music and DVD's. She should use something else.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

I agree with the above, she should just use Cyberlink, I have it, and it burns great, I'm not sure if it does good with CD's, but DVD's burn quick and great...
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Yeah tell her WMP is the worst app to use for burning.

ImgBurn, Nero among others are way better. If she refuses to use a different app she is just to lazy to learn how to click a few buttons and shouldnt use a PC in the first place.

Not to sound harsh but WMP sucks when burning music and DVD's. She should use something else.
I know I know, I agree totally but she's extremely *****y and defensive when I tried to show her how to use Cyberlink. Because she's covered by a warranty she's wants her computer to work exactly as she thinks it should
Anyways, the tech working on it before me must've given me the wrong info because now it's not buring CDs under anything, WMP, Explorer, Cyber, Nero, nothing works.......
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I was going to say that you should install the nero plugin for wmp. what kind of burner is it?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 04:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

I understand why you'd want to be able to burn cds with WMP. If you use it to listen to your albums and you have your library nicely organised then it would be much easier to just right click on an album and add to burn list as opposed to hunting around your hard disk looking for files and adding them to nero.

I would just check the WMP options and consider reinstalling chipset drivers (I have problems with my CD-Drive if I use the Nvidia IDE driver)
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I was going to say that you should install the nero plugin for wmp. what kind of burner is it?
Dual layer dvd burner, not sure what brand. Would the nero plugin work even though she doesn't have nero installed on her machine? We just used a store copy to test it.
Anyways I think this problem got fixed one way or another over the weekend. I'm a salesperson, I was just pitching in for a few hours because I have such l33t 5ki11z in computers.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.