laptop to TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default laptop to TV

i heard that it is possible connect your laptop to tv like for watching movie that you have on laptop

is there anything special i should have or i need a wiring or other video card?
__________________

4uvak is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

If your laptop has an S-Video out then you can use that. If your TV has S-Video in, then you can use an S-Video cable (go figure). If it doesn't, then you will need an S-Video to RCA (composite) adapter and an RCA cable.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

how can i check
thats my laptop
http://www.bookandsave.com/bookandsa...0_back_314.jpg
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

It will look like this:
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

yeah i got that would i need any program for that or will just show my screen on TV?
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You have to go into the display properties, and tell it to display on a TV. It will change the screen reslution to 640*480 to accomodate the TV.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Yep, and if you want the sound to come out of the TV speakers then you will need an 1/8" to RCA cable as well (although it depends on your setup, it may not work if you are using an S-Video cable).
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 308
Default

can i get those like at walmart target or i need to order from internet?
4uvak is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

yes, you should be able to, you can get a 1/8" stereo to rca cable from walmart or such, it will look like this:
http://www.macfriends.com/productImages/audio/13927.jpg
just plug that from your headphone out or your lineout.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

If you would like to use that for the audio, then I would reccomend not using an S-Video cable, but rather the S-Video to RCA adapter for the video.

You just use the TVs built-in speakers, right? Or do you have a receiver?
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.