Laptop is slower than frozen molasis when booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Laptop is slower than frozen molasis when booting

Hi Everybody,
I have a Compaq Armada E500 and for some reason it takes like 7min to boot and go to the desktop. There are like 4 startup programs and It has very little software installed and I can't figure out why its so slow. Any ideas or ways to make the boot-up faster?
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

List all specifications and O/S please.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Specs

Win XP Professional SP1
Intel P3 690mhz
128mb RAM
ATI Rage mobility - 8mb ( didn't know g-cards went that low)
35 processes
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

RAM is the problem. Upgrade to at least 256 and your problem is solved.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Hey. I have an Armada e500 as well, pretty much the same as yours.
Windows XP will run too slowly with 128mb of ram, you'll have to upgrade to 256 like SHAWN said.
Problem is, you'll have a bit of trouble upgrading. It is very likely that you have 2 64mb sodimms installed, taking up the ram slots already. You'll either have to buy 2 128mb sodimms or 2 256mb sodimms (if you go for 512mb instead). Keep that in mind when looking at memory prices so you don't get a nasty surprise like me. I now have 192mb of memory
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Was yours really slow booting as well before you upgraded? I didn't even know you could upgrade anything in a laptop. So slow booting has nothing to do with programs or other stuff, strictly ram?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Now, with laptops it's possible to upgrade certain parts. Usually RAM, CPU, and HD is all you can do. I'd really like to see better standardization for laptops myself. I hear of newer high quality laptops using daisy cards for the vidcard. That's good I say. Now, remember man, vidcards were like everything else, they started with literally no memory. Heck, the first Nvidia vidcard was actually BUILT by nvidia! shocking indeed. It came bundled with 2 games I think. I know one was virtua fighter (w00t!). and check this... 2MB's of RAM. Intense eh?

[EDIT]
Btw, I read this inna mag. I think it was PC world. THey were cleaning out their old mag shop (bootdisk world or something like that) and found this gem of a vidcard.. in it's original box even with the plastic seal still intact! If any of you guys have it? store that thing inna vault, it's a computer geek gem. Probably worth $900 USD. I know a 3DFX Voodoo6 is easily worth $3000 USD since it's probably the MOST rare vidcard of all time. Was never officially released. People had to buy them from the warehouse before they were recycled.. ti'was a sad day in vidcard history I say. So yes, if you have a hella old vidcard in original packaging (heck, sometimes even without) and it's a rare find? it's a computing antique, keep it. Maybe make it a family hand-me-down.. lol, I dunno now, I'm just rambling.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr Nick
Was yours really slow booting as well before you upgraded? I didn't even know you could upgrade anything in a laptop. So slow booting has nothing to do with programs or other stuff, strictly ram?
I use Windows 98SE on this laptop, I have no need for xp right now. You can upgrade the memory to 512, I'll try and track down the .pdf manual for this thing. I used to have it somewhere. As far as the ram goes, any pc-100/133 sodimm will work fine. Here are some on newegg:
128 MB: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211101
(the only one on the site anymore it seems)
256 MB:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

I'll try and post that .pdf file for you, it has upgrade instructions.
EDIT: Try this http://h18000.www1.hp.com/support/te...70045-002.html
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.