laptop OS problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Default laptop OS problems

Ok, my brother recently bought a used laptop. He says for a day it worked ok, but then messed up.

When booted, none of the shortcuts or the taskbar load. Taking a look at the task manager, I found that explorer.exe wasn't loading. Using the command promt, I found that the file isn't missing and when I try to execute it in command prompt, it only flashes on for about a blink of an eye before going away.

I'm thinking the explorer.exe is corrupted through virus or something other means. Here's the problem.

The CD ROM doesn't work, so I can't use the Windows XP disk to fix the problem. I tried using a flashdrive to put a copy of an uncorrupted file on, but the command prompt doesn't seem to recognize it as a drive and I dont know how else to access it.

I dont have a external CD ROM or harddrive to use.

Anybody have any thoughts on how I can get an uncorrupted explorer.exe on there???
__________________

mysticphysh is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

do a network install of XP if you can
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you cant booot from the CD when you restart?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

the cd-rom drive doesn't work, or at least thats what i understand
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Yeah, CD ROM doesn't work, otherwise, I'd just boot from that and fix the problem.

I have no clue how to set up a network install using command prompt on windows xp. I'm not sure I want to do a complete install of the OS anyways. I think I'd rather just wait 2 weeks until my buddy gets back from vacation and use his external drive. I was just hoping to get it done sooner.
mysticphysh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.