Laptop No HD, Desktop Maybe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Leasure
Default Laptop No HD, Desktop Maybe?

Okay here is the deal. I have a compaq laptop that the hard drive went out of. I am unable to buy a new one at this time. I was wondering if I was able to connect useing my desktops HD over a network on the laptop. If so how and can i do it wireless? I want to use the laptop on the pad. Just to get outside while doing some work.
-Thanks
__________________

Leasure is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you want to do what? you want to connect to the dead hdd from your desktop?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Leasure
Default

No No. I want to connect to my desktop hard drive from my laptop wirelessly, and there is no HD in the Laptop. IS this possable?

--Edit
Or i can use a CAT 5 lan wire if I have to.
Leasure is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont think so, but maybe you can try a bootdisk on a floppy and then navigate to the shared drive if you had one but then you would need network bootdisk drivers, so i dont even think you can do this.....
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did that make sense?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Leasure
Default

Yes. I ddint think that this was possable, Just thought I would ask. I remembered seeing a option to boot from Network. And I didnt know what this ment
Leasure is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

thats a big process but i dont think that will hep you
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

a Linux or bart pe cd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Leasure
No No. I want to connect to my desktop hard drive from my laptop wirelessly, and there is no HD in the Laptop. IS this possable?

--Edit
Or i can use a CAT 5 lan wire if I have to.
Definitly not possible.
ablaye is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
a Linux or bart pe cd

You saying he can do this with one of those cds?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.