Laptop Hard drive Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Laptop Hard drive Question

hey, a friends laptop died and he wanted me to get the data from the old harddrive. i was wondering how i would do that i dont really mess around with laptops to often so i donno if its just like regular sata or ide? or where to even start? thanx for any info.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it could be sata or ide

i use my erd commander to get data off
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

the hard drive is actually perfectly fine i just need to take it out and get the data off it some how could i hook it up to a desktop some how? i was thinking of just putting it into the new laptop but i dont think it would boot up or if it was IDE or sata. so is there anyway to set it as a slave on a desktop and get everything off?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

get an external hard drive enclosure and hook it up via usb
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

They make 2.5" ide to 3.5" ide adapters, you can get one cheap on geeks.com too.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I personally would go the external 2.5" enclosure route for the sake of the easy USB 2.0 interface. The IDE adapter works fine as well, but then you have to open the case up, plug in power, free up a IDE connector..bla bla..I think its cheaper though either way is fine.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 02:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0244463
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0240900
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0224044
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok sweet i was looking at the adapters usb does sound much easier hahaha thanx alot guys.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.