Laptod HD to desktop PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2005, 10:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default Same problem

I sort'a have the same problem..

But in my case i was already using the drive as an external usb hdd.... And it worked fine...I tried connecting it to an older computer I have and that's when the problem stared.

Now connecting it externally or with the drive adapter (inside the pc) won't work. I see the drive in Device Manager with the label "Disc Drive". But It doesn't appear in My Computer nor Disk Management. I can;t acces it via the command prompt either. When I try to populate, i get the error message:
"Volume information for this disk cannot be found. THis may happen if the disk is a 1394 or a USB device on a Windows 2000 machine."

This error msg doesn't help much.
I put the hdd back in the external case..I also tried putting it in a new case..didn't work...I'm now trying to solve the problem but I really need help...I have a million important files on the HDD whick I don't have a backup of.

I'm usin XP SP2 with all current drivers. Usb 2.0 support, and I don't have any other devices connected in my other usb ports.. And this all seems strange because it was working fine.

Crlsn is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293

try this, go on properties, and see if you can find something that you can make that drive a certain removable drive with a letter

if not, i have no clue

professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

Did it have EFS enabled?
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4

It didn't have EFS enabled either.... There wasn't any cind of password protection either on the drive itself.. Some protected zip/rar files maybe....

Crlsn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.