laggy slow laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2006, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default laggy slow laptop

I dont know why but on my laptop everything is so laggy and slow.

it takes forever for firefox to load. and when i try to shut it down it takes forever. and when i check the cpu useage it is always really high like at 100% it says... whats wrong?! do i have some sort of virus? i have anti-virus and stuff but i still have a slow and laggy laptop.

does anyone have any idea whats wrong? its relatively new too i just got it last year.
__________________

kiki13 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

First open a run box and type in msconfig and click the startup tab and see how much stuff is running when you start up.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

28 stuff is that bad? what is safe to remove?
kiki13 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Depends what you want starting, but nothing in there will stop the pc from booting.

Besides your AV Id shut it all off.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

And any laptop quick launch buttons u may want, though i shut mine off.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

thanks so much for your help! i never knew i had so many things running lol...
kiki13 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well did that work? 28 is WAY to much, all you need it atleast 4 or 4 which is usually the anvirus and MS office cftmon
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.