Lagging restart? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
kv8
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Lagging restart?

I've been having this problem for awhile now.. and still haven't found an answer to the cause..

I'm running windows XP, and I suffer from hugeeee shutdown times. When I restart my computer, log off, turn it off etc. it takes almost 10 minutes sometimes and I'm not sure why..

I'm not totally computer illiterate but I'm not so knowledgable either so any help would be appreciated.
__________________

kv8 is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You should start by scanning your machine for spyware/adware and viruses...
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

do you own a windows xp installation cd?

if so, then you could try a windows repair...
(might save for last resort if nothing else works)

----------------------------------------------------------

does your computer have a slow startup to?

Start > Run type: msconfig

then click the startup tab, and uncheck programs that you don't use , or would rather start manualy...

one of these might be takeing too long to end when windows is shuting down...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
kv8
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I use spyware doctor and kaspersky as anti-spyware/virus/adware...

My computer is clean as far as I know.. and also another thing I seem to have noticed is that I can't switch users..
kv8 is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

try to find bootvis and run that. it should help you a little with finding what is going on. Also, look for newer drivers that you can install. Usually shutdown is slowed by a driver that won't release or terminate on time. It's something I've been working a few weeks with the machines I support.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
try to find bootvis and run that. it should help you a little with finding what is going on. Also, look for newer drivers that you can install. Usually shutdown is slowed by a driver that won't release or terminate on time. It's something I've been working a few weeks with the machines I support.

Good luck
Bootvis is known to make your boot time longer with SP2. it only works on sp1 and before. now that's my 1 liner
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kv8
I use spyware doctor and kaspersky as anti-spyware/virus/adware...

My computer is clean as far as I know.. and also another thing I seem to have noticed is that I can't switch users..
check in your network properties, right click you lan and select properties. check to see if you have novell (or netware) client for windows installed. uninstall it.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 09:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
kv8
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
check in your network properties, right click you lan and select properties. check to see if you have novell (or netware) client for windows installed. uninstall it.
I checked, and.. neither are installed. Thanks for the suggestion though..
kv8 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Shutdown time is directly related to drivers and applications that are running when you shutdown. The only way to speed it up, is to find the driver/application that is taking longer than it should to shutdown.
Although Bootvis doens't help an SP2 machine, that is if you are running SP2, it might give you some insite into the issue. You need to get a trace of what is happening at a time when it's pretty hard to monitor a system.
I suspect that the problem is a driver, but it's possible it's an application that just doesn't want to die.

Something else you can do is this:
Change the WaitToKillAppTimeout value in HKey_Current_User\Control Panel\Desktop to something smaller. should be at 20 (milliseconds).

Also read this and see if it applies.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;822738
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 12:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I had a stick of memory that was going bad once and it made my machine take a long time to shut down or restart. The stick of memory finally went totally bad and made the computer shut down or I'm not sure I would have ever figured it out. The computer would work fine one day, then the next it was really slow. I thought usually memory would either just work or not, but this took a week or two before it totally quit, at which point the machine let me know that I had a problem the next time I restarted it. It was pretty strange.

If I were guessing I would have suggested what Greg and Inaris suggested. You said you can't change users, though, which makes me wonder if you don't have some sort of spyware or adware on your comp that's keeping you from doing so. This happened to my mother-in-law, she had a trojan horse that wouldn't let her change to her Admin user status.
__________________

10-79 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.