Kind of a dual boot I think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Kind of a dual boot I think?

I hope im in the right forum, if not feel free to move admin. OK, I was getting a comp ready to sell and I was using a new partitioned HD in the comp to install vista. Vista wouldnt recognize HD to load vista on so I moved it to my comp and installed vista and the HD going to other comp. After I was finished moved HD to new comp and all works well. Now the problem is when i reset my comp or turn it on, a screen pops up saying which OS do I want to use, Vista or Vista? My comp already had it installed but I removed the 2nd HD to the new comp. Is there a way to remove this screen before start up or do I have to start all over with mine? Any help is greatly appreciated. BTW everything works fine just that screen is kindof annoying.
__________________

Dainius is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Google for EasyBCD and remove the entry that doesn't work anymore.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Can't you get rid of that through msconfig? Unless you can't in Vista anymore...I knew you could in XP. Start > run > type 'msconfig' (without the quotes) > boot.ini tab > click "check all boot paths' button.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Vista does not have the boot tab anymore since Vista does not use the boot.ini anymore. You could try to manually edit the BCD going thru the run or command promopt. But it is just easier with EasyBCD. Trying to edit teh BCD is not a easy task.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Ah, ok, forgot about that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Alright, thanks for the info! that cleared the problem right up and no more annoying screen asking which OS I want to use. You guys/gals are the best!
Dainius is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Kind of a dual boot I think?

Glad it worked out so well for you.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with setting up dual boot mode briana06 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-10-2008 05:33 PM
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual Boot (question) zaki1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-14-2007 10:29 PM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.