Kerio Firewall possibly related, strange behaviour from PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default Kerio Firewall possibly related, strange behaviour from PC

Hi there everyone,

I think I've got a problem in that my PC which will occasionally take ages to launch a program. For instance, Age of Empires 3, when I recently tried to launch it, took a good 5-10 minutes to launch the splash screen, before proceeding normally. Other things like the IrfanView installation took an age for the installation process to start up as well, only for it to afterwards carry on normally. RegCleaner, which is already installed, won't even start up. With IrfanView and AoE3, though, it started up when eventually my firewall, Kerio Personal Firewall, came up with the 'permit' screen after the very long wait. So basically, I think something's up.
I suspect the firewall, but when I tried uninstalling it for ZoneAlarm, it wouldn't complete isntallation, saying that there was a problem of some sort and that I wasn't able to access it. I couldn't uninstall manually either! I tried exiting the firewall beforehand, but it simply doesn't do anything when I click 'exit' on the right-click menu.

All help appreciated
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 @ 2.7 Ghz
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
2 GB OCZ PC3200
Gigabyte 8800 GTX
250Gb HDD
24 inch display (with bonus high pitched squeaky sound-- thx gateway)

*Dell XPS Gen2 laptop
teddyn is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

load up in safe mode to remove kerio.

Kerio is rather hardcore, doing much more than a firewall should, and can cause all sorts of problems.
Are you running a trial? if so is it a recent one?

Also what antivirus are you running? Kerio causes problems with some.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Hey, thanks for the reply-
I'm using the Free Edition of 'Sunbelt Kerio Personal Firewall 4'... for anti-virus I'm using 'avast!'.
I will now uninstall in safe mode; thanks for the tip!
__________________
*Opteron 165 @ 2.7 Ghz
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
2 GB OCZ PC3200
Gigabyte 8800 GTX
250Gb HDD
24 inch display (with bonus high pitched squeaky sound-- thx gateway)

*Dell XPS Gen2 laptop
teddyn is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Well, I've just tried uninstalling in safe mode but no luck; it came up with the message 'Windows Installer could not be accessed. This can happen if you are running windows in safe mode'.... :'(
:S
__________________
*Opteron 165 @ 2.7 Ghz
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
2 GB OCZ PC3200
Gigabyte 8800 GTX
250Gb HDD
24 inch display (with bonus high pitched squeaky sound-- thx gateway)

*Dell XPS Gen2 laptop
teddyn is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

remove kerio from your startup programs then kill it on reboot.

type "msconfig" in a run box and unckeck any enteries related to kerio under the startup tab.

If it won't uninstall through windows installer then you may need to remove it manually and then scrub the registry but that will leave DLLs knocking around.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Aaah, the msconfig disabling worked. I've now uninstalled it and installed zonealarm. The problems left with kerio.
Another thing came up though- after installing zonealarm, avast! came up with a message saying that a feature had to be disabled because of a compatability issue with zonealarm. Anyone have experience of this and know what specifically was lost? It was some kind of web shadow proxy or something...?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 @ 2.7 Ghz
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
2 GB OCZ PC3200
Gigabyte 8800 GTX
250Gb HDD
24 inch display (with bonus high pitched squeaky sound-- thx gateway)

*Dell XPS Gen2 laptop
teddyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.