Just Reformatted And A Problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2006, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to MCLAUGH Send a message via Yahoo to MCLAUGH
Default Just Reformatted And A Problem.

Well my grandma needed her computer reformatted. I put Windows XP Pro and for some reason the drivers are missing for the video card, ethernet controllers, etc. What do I need to do to fix this problem?
__________________

MCLAUGH is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Whenever you reformat, you lose EVERYTHING! This includes all files, programs, and drivers. Go to the corresponding websites for your hardware to get the drivers. For example, if you have an ATi vid card, then go to ATi.com and get drivers there, etc, etc.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to MCLAUGH Send a message via Yahoo to MCLAUGH
Default

well then wtf because I have never had it happen to my computers. I reformat all the time and I never had a missing ethernet controller driver.
MCLAUGH is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That's probably because Windows was able to use one of it's generic ones to work with your ethernet controller. However, Windows doesn't have an Ace up its sleeve for every piece of hardware
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

or perhaps you did a repair install, and not a new install.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to MCLAUGH Send a message via Yahoo to MCLAUGH
Default

I've got it all worked out! Thx for helping.
__________________

MCLAUGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.